Home > Uncategorized > The Sly Spammers

The Sly Spammers

Everyone gets the emails from Ibn Rahmid Abdul, the crown prince of Uzbekistan.  He magnanimously offers everyone 80 million dollars if they’ll only loan him a few bucks, up front, to escape the capitivity of his arch-rival Mushish Abendo, the Caribbean dog-fighter with a penchant for bourbon.  Ibn is compelling but I always manage to resist.  But, occasionally I get an email that seems a little more genuine.  It’s from Yahoo! Account Service or Ebay!@…I always click on these just to make sure they’re not real (I can never be bothered to remember the tell-tale outward signs). 

Well, today I got one from “FedEx”.  It starts off innocuously enough.

We have been waiting for you to contact us for your Package that has been registered with us for shipping to your residential location.

 Hey, that could be… right?  Occasi0nally I get Package to my residential location.  But, then I saw this:

The content of your parcel includes a Bank Draft worth of $288,000.00 (Two Hundred and
Eighty Eight Thousand US Dollars).

Not only does my parcel include nearly 300 million (US dollars), but it comes in the form a bank draft.  Not a money order or a cashier’s check; a bank draft.  Just in case, you know, I happen to live in Regency England.  I really hope these spam messages are automatically created…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. MWS
    September 26, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Is it normal for FedEx to open their customer’s packages and tell them how much money is in them?

  2. September 26, 2009 at 12:47 am

    Right. There’s that too. But, is it normal for someone to send 288 million dollars…in an unsecured truck? If some guy was enough of a buffoon to do that I’d DEMAND that FedEx open the package just to spite us both.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

