Home > Moving Pictures and the Tube > Film Postcards

Film Postcards

So I finally went out and bought this Cary Grant DVD box set I’ve been eyeing for awhile.  I wanted it because it had two great Jean Arthur (my favorite actress of all-time) movies and a Grant/Hepburn movie, Holiday, which I’ve never seen anywhere else.  Throw in His Girl Friday and The Awful Truth, and I figured it’d be worth every cent of the $37 I paid.  But, I drastically underestimated its awesomeness; inside were 10 DVD sized postcards.    I am irrationally excited about them.

I knew this girl in college who just loved writing letters.  She was, like, morally opposed to email.  Hand-written letters and Graham Greene novels and I thought it was just about the sweetest thing.  You need to be that kind of person, or at least understand that kind of person- the glory of pen in hand and the passage of time, of blotchy ink and relics- to appreciate these kind of postcards. I’m not sure if I know anyone like that.   Maybe I’ll hide them away somewhere, and send one off every few years.  Here are a few pictures.

The Awful TruthOnly AngelsBack

  1. MWS
    October 27, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Nobody can read my handwriting.

    Frankly, I’m surprised it comes out okay on the internet…….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

